Date: 15th Aug 2022
L&DCC is not responsible for Third Party websites

LL L&DCC 2nd XI Round Up - Week 22 (18 September)

Date: 24th September 2021

Congrats to Colwyn Bay and Southport Trinity

2nd XI Round Up Week 22 – 18 September

With all the important decisions already resolved in the Premier Division, the only outstanding issue was who would finish as league runners up. Northern needed to gain three more bonus points than Formby. They could not have made a more disappointing start, losing half of their side for just 30. Adam Tweedle with 76 (taking him past 500 runs for the season) and Jack Snaylam with 60 shared a 130 run partnership to boost their chances of gaining maximum batting points which was achieved with Callum Snaylam’s 31. Five wickets for Gareth Houghton (his fourth such occurrence this campaign). Orrell started well (Mahoney 37 and Craig 21) and when Steven Unsworth came in to hit a fine 60, they were well placed for victory. 19 from Houghton brought the Wigan side within six of victory before the last wicket fell giving Northern maximum 25 points.

Formby were also involved in a high scoring affair against Lytham. Batting first, opener Tom Simpson ended a prosperous season with 70 aided by 40s from Jones and Gallagher as they passed 200 and collected maximum batting points. Four wickets for Norris who then had a 95 run opening partnership (49 for him) with Myles Child bettering Simpson’s score by one. Up stepped the evergreen Anthony Rogan who ended up with 6 for 55 which together with Simpsons four wicket haul, enabled Formby to be victorious by 23 runs and claim second spot.

New Brighton ended their disappointing season with victory over the other side who will drop down a division next year, Firwood Bootle. Billy Smith was asked to open and produced his highest score recorded in 19 years on play cricket of 34 before later on claiming the wicket he needed to achieve 800 play cricket career wickets. Shaun Hornby with 53 top scorer for Bootle whose focus was elsewhere. New Brighton’s reply was built around Daniel Johnstone’s unbeaten 107 (his first three figure score since 2013) as they secured a three wicket win.

Sefton Park chased down champion’s Wallasey’s score of 162 (and no, it does not mean that they are now champions) with Leo Spilsbury top scoring with 44 and the top six bar one, all passing 20. Richard Sutton an unbeaten 51 and Williams 47 for Wallasey. Southport & Birkdale got the better of Newton le Willows but an incomplete scorecard only shows Rohan Bhalla scored 75 of Newtons total

Leading runs scorers Tom Simpson (Formby) 717 runs, Martin Williams (Wallasey) 640 and Michael Gill (Ormskirk) 553

Leading Wickets – Matthew Wood (Northern) 55 wkts, Gareth Houghton (ORT) 41, Tom Meskell (Firwood Bootle) 40

Congratulations to Colwyn Bay who knew that a win would give their already promoted side the Division One title. Harry Spillane with an undefeated 52 with Hudson and Jones passing 30, led their batting performance. A career best six wickets for Lewis Bamber. Six of Spring View’s batters reached double figures but Howard Bamber’s 25 was the best as they lacked someone to go on and dominate. Russell with four wickets in a comfortable 40 run victory.

Highfield faced Wavertree in a game they needed to win to have any chance of avoiding the drop from Division One. They very nearly achieved that result but Wavertree’s last wicket fell with the scores level to produce the first tied game of the season. James Taylor with 67 and 51 from Craig Aspey were their top scorers as they declared on 202. Wavertree’s response was evenly shared with four players scoring 29 – 31 and Robin Lloyd unbeaten on 41 despite Jamie Darbyshire’s best attempts as he ended with 6 for 28.

Rainhill had started the day with one eye on results elsewhere as they languished too close to the drop zone, but they had five players passing 21 led by 36 from Yate and Ford (35) as they set a challenging target of 193. Evan Withe continued his recent good performances with 55 but lacked any support as Northop Hall ended well short. Rainford bounced back from last week’s bad day at the office, with a four wicket victory over Leigh. Cleworth with 35 as Leigh were dismissed for 118. Four wickets for Lunt. Brook and Stephen Harrison were both dismissed on 34 as they eased to victory.

Harry Jackman claimed five Ainsdale wickets for 50 as he became the division’s leading wicket taker, as only David Reid with 60 and Friar (37) offered much resistance to the Wigan bowlers. Daniel Yates then scored 53 in the reply which allowed him to give Wigan a double of highest run scorer and most wickets takers. Ryan Ouwerkerk also hit an unbeaten 53 helped by Bailey’s 47

Leading Run Scorers – Daniel Yates (Wigan) 544 runs, Andrew Rose (Old Xaverians) 543, Dan Jordan (Birkenhead Park) 442

Leading Wickets – Harry Jackman (Wigan) 44 wkts, Louie Evans (Birkenhead Park) 43, James Jones (Colwyn Bay) 37

Division Twohad one outstanding issue and it was to decide which of the top two (already promoted) sides would claim the Division Title. Southport Trinity had a narrow two point advantage and when they dismissed Caldy for 115 (Tobyn 27), they had one hand on the trophy. Scott Francis with 66 (and passing 500 runs for the season) as he and Will Marsh (48) eased to a ten wicket success. Fleetwood Hesketh also dismissed their opponents cheaply with Ryan Thomas taking five for 30 as Sutton St Helens struggled for runs (Bolton 30). Byrne with 42 in an eight wicket win to end a successful season which they matched Trinity week by week.

Maghull’s victory over Prestatyn in a run fest (over 500 scored) in which both Joe Horton with 113 and Martin Fitton with his maiden century of 105 not out were in fine form on a day when only six wickets fell, allowed Maghull to claim third place. Jack Cheetham with 63 for the home side and Stanley and Byron with 41 each for the Welsh side. Former Hightown St Marys player Ross Kirkpatrick saved his best score against his old side with 68 unbeaten in Alder’s drawn game. Clarke with 48 as the Crosby team ended with the last pair at the crease. Five wickets for Steve Harrison. Parkfield Liscard were unable to raise a team again.

Leading Run Scorers – Scott Francis (Southport Trinity) 561 runs, Frank Byrom 405, Macauley Lawrenson (both Maghull) 391

Leading Wickets – Paul Mullen (Fleetwood Hesketh) 46, Michael Roberti (Southport Trinity) 41, Tom Connolly (Maghull) 33

Thank you to those who took the time to read these weekly roundups and I hope you enjoyed them and apologies if your own achievements in a game were not highlighted.

Winter well

Back to top